Elected Leaders - North Carolina's Judicial District 11B

District Attorney

The primary duty of the District Attorney is to prosecute all criminal cases filed in District 11-B, which includes all of Johnston County. The District Attorney represents the state in all criminal and some juvenile matters. In addition, the D. A. is responsible for preparing the criminal trial docket and advising law enforcement officers in the district. The District Attorney is elected for a four-year term in partisan voting and is not allowed to engage in the private practice of law.

Susan Doyle (R)
600 Neuse Ridge Drive
Clayton, NC 27527
Phone: 919.550.5234
Term Expires: 2014
District Office
120 S. Third Street
PO Box 1029
Smithfield, NC 27577
Phone: 9189.209.5520

Superior Court Judge

Superior Court Judges are attorneys who are elected for each district in non-partisan elections for eight-year terms. Regular superior court judges must reside in the district in which they are elected, but rotate from one district to another within their division.

The Superior Court has jurisdiction in both civil and criminal cases. Generally, civil cases involving more than $10,000 in money and a few special categories of cases, such as those involving appeals from administrative agencies and constitutional issues, are tried in Superior Court. In criminal cases, the Superior Court has exclusive jurisdiction over all felonies and over misdemeanors appealed from a conviction in District Court.

Thomas H. Lock
605 River Birch Court
Smithfield, NC 27577
Phone: 919.934.0957
Term Expires: 2014
Civil Court Trial Court Coordinator
Phone: 919.209.5512

District Court Judges

District Court Judges are attorneys who are elected for each district for four years and must reside in the district in which they are elected. Seven District Court Judges are assigned to preside over court in Judicial District 11B.

Both civil and criminal cases are heard in District Court. Generally, the District Court is the proper division for cases involving amounts in controversy of $10,000 or less. Domestic relations cases involving alimony, child support, child custody, divorce, equitable distribution, and juvenile matters are also heard in this court. In criminal cases, District Court has exclusive original jurisdiction over misdemeanor cases and most traffic offenses.

Albert A. Corbett Jr. (D)
Chief District Court Judge
1119 Chestnut Drive
Smithfield, NC 27577
Phone: 919.934.3696
Term Expires: 2014

Jackie Lee (R)
1496 Wood-Lee Road
Four Oaks, NC 27524
Phone: 919.894.5197
Term Expires: 2012

Paul Holcombe (R)
94 Normandy Drive
Clayton, NC 27527
Term Expires: 2012

O. Henry Willis Jr. (D)
302 S. General Lee Avenue
Dunn, NC 28335
Term Expires: 2012

Addie Harris Rawls (D)
42 N. Ashlyn Drive
Clayton, NC 27520
Term Expires: 2014

Resson O. Faircloth II (D)
PO Box 8
Erwin, NC 28339
Term Expires: 2012

Robert W. Bryant (D)
949 Live Oak Church Road
Selma, NC 27576
Term Expires: 2012


Home | MEMBER LOGIN | Join Now | Contact Us
facebook  twitter logo  LinkedIn logo
Greater Smithfield-Selma Area Chamber of Commerce
1115 Outlet Center Drive | P.O. Box 467
Smithfield, N.C. 27577
Phone: 919-934-9166 | Fax: 919-934-1337
Privacy Policy | Refund Policy

site by ChamberMaster